Back to De Anza College Home Faculty Forum
De Anza College | Faculty Directory

Home

XML icon

Discussion

Recent Discussion

Create New Topic

De Anza Faculty Forum

My Letter to La Voz in Support of Math Dept.

NOTE: The following article was written by De Anza faculty member John Perry of the Department of Computer Information Systems.

---

Why De Anza Math Marchers Are "Wack"

I have been an instructor in the Computer Information Systems Department at De Anza for 15 years. The first five years, from 1989-1994 were the "salad days" -- six or seven real wizards per class, excellent attendance, diligence even among mediocre students, and few behavioral problems.

Then something happened. I do not know what it was, or is, but it is so palpable that Faculty are talking about it in hushed tones behind closed doors because it is so "politically incorrect". That "something" is that student performance AND behavioral standards are in stark decline.

Frankly, I blame part of this problem on student reviews of Fac? ulty as a point of leverage for or against Faculty. Many students are not even aware of the benefits of a highly rigorous and demanding instructor until they reach advanced courses or even the job market. Personally, I cannot tell you how many students have come back to me months or years after a course I have taught to thank me for being such a "hard ass".

Just as children don't get to "rate" their parents and submit it to the State of California for the obvious reason that parents have lived longer, experienced more, and use this wisdom of acquired expe? rience to guide their children -- even if it means they don't get to be the "hip" mom or dad in the neighborhood. The wisdom of student ratings of Faculty rests on a shaky ground and becomes a mere popular? ity contest.